MRF Challenge names its Champion

After 4 rounds, the 2016/17 MRF Challenge has named its Formula 2000 Champion. UK's Harrison Newey, son of renowned F1 car designer Adrian, was crowned the champion of the MRF Challenge on Sunday after the final Chennai round. 

In a dramatic finish, the 18-year-old Harrison and Australian Joey Mawson tied on 277 points, but the British driver was adjudged champion on the basis of his six wins. Mick Schumacher of Germany, son of F1 legend Michael, finished third in the championship with 213 points.

The 2016/17 series saw mountune working with JA Motorsport, a leading designer and manufacturer of racing cars, contracted by MRF to run the Indian Formula 2000 Challenge.

The mountune team supplied 23x 2L Duratec dry sumped engines to JA Motorsports, who prepared and supported all of the cars for the championship.  Each build, running 250bhp included a bespoke inlet system with mountune's initial design of the single throttle plenum, which was modified by JA Motorsport to suit the final installation, and the cast plenum was manufactured by Jayem Automotive in India.

The mountune team also supported the series by offering track support at all 4 rounds across UAE, the Middle East and India.  

We look forward to working with JA Motorsport again for the 2017/18 MRF Challenge. 


Leave a comment

← Previous post
Next post →